Book Review: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Posted · 9 Comments
Book Review and Giveaway The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Just Commonly blog tour The Evaporation of Sofi Snow with resilicne expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Official Book Description:

For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power.

Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, her only constant has been her younger brother, Shilo. As an online gamer, Sofi battles behind the scenes of Earth’s Fantasy Fighting arena where Shilo is forced to compete in a mix of real and virtual blood sport. But when a bomb takes out a quarter of the arena, Sofi’s the only one who believes Shilo survived. She has dreams of him. And she’s convinced he’s been taken to the ice-planet.

Except no one but ambassadors are allowed there.

For Miguel—Earth’s charming young playboy—the games are of a different sort. As Ambassador to the Delonese, his career has been built on trading secrets and seduction. Until the Fantasy Fight’s bomb goes off. Now the tables have turned and he’s a target for blackmail. The game is simple: Help the blackmailers, or lose more than anyone can fathom, or Earth can afford.

From the award-winning author of the Storm Siren Trilogy, step into a diverse cast of characters spanning from the electric metropolises of earth to the chilling alien planet above, in a story of re-finding yourself in the midst of losing the one thing you love. Before it all evaporates.

My Review:

Things I loved:

The opening scenes of this riveting book immediately immersed me in an amazing live-action video game with real people playing out a video game in large arena filled with unbelievable scenery and challenges. That first scene with the explosive gaming and amazing technology, and another later in the story, where everyone is dancing, were so beautifully described it was like watching a movie. The characters have depth and yet live frenetically, much like the pace of the whole book itself. The tension between Miguel and Sofi kept me turning pages and wanting to see what was going to happen next.

What I was glad to see was Weber’s characters also accurately represent what many kids are really experiencing and the tension of bitter memories over poor decisions. Sofi is very resilient and never gives up on trying to find her brother when he is presumed dead. Her courage and selflessness is admirable, even if her understanding of life is very jumbled up from the political and family corruption she’s experienced first-hand.

If you’ve ever been through a severe trauma, as I have with surviving a wildfire, you’ll appreciate Sofi’s flashbacks and the way Weber puts you in touch, over time, with her strength as a character. I had a lot of compassion for her choices and could see a deeper level of hurt that seemed authentic.

Miguel is a great counter point of wit, dashing masculinity, and a bit of whimsy with his purple-tinted hair and life-of-the-party kind of personality. There’s a real spark between the two that develops well in the book too.

Things I’d caution about:

This is a high-power, heavy action book which I’d really recommend to the later end of young adult age range. There is mention of loose morals and Sofi’s unhealthy binging on relationships after one didn’t work out in the past. The brutal events and nature of the relationships are edgy, like the whole book, so for more sensitive readers I’d recommend it for older high school aged kids and up. Also, the ending is a huge cliff-hanger and you’ll be compelled to get the next one in the duology to see what happens.

Overall:

I was drawn into the story and the beginning set such a great tone for lots of twists and unexpected turns. And I was on edge the whole time. I really love this author and appreciate better treatment of hot issues like human trafficking, identity, rivalries, thriving despite poor role models, and the value of life than books like the Hunger Games and others in that lane. I really enjoyed reading it. Just be ready for the edge if you do, because it will blow your mind and expectations. And your fingers will be itching to read the second book!

 

Book cover The Evapoartion of Sofi Snow, review of Mary Weber's book by resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

 

Title:  The Evaporation of Sofi Snow

Series: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow, Book 1

Author:  Mary Weber

Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Release Date:  June 6, 2017

Genre: Young Adult Fiction / Sci-Fi

AMAZON | GOODREADS | BOOK DEPOSITORY | ITUNES

Disclosure: I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Author Mary Weber

Author Mary Weber

About the Author

Mary Weber is a ridiculously uncoordinated girl plotting to take over make-believe worlds through books, handstands, and imaginary throwing knives. In her spare time, she feeds unicorns, sings 80’s hairband songs to her three muggle children, and ogles her husband who looks strikingly like Wolverine. They live in California, which is perfect for stalking L.A. bands, Joss Whedon, and the ocean.

website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Tour Schedule

5/15 – Reading is My SuperPower (review)
5/16 – Thorn & Vine (review) & A Baker’s Perspective (review)
5/17 – My So Called Chaos (review) & Between the Pages of This Bookish Life (Spotlight)
5/18 – Bibliophile Reviews (Review),  Singing Librarian Books (Spotlight) & Thinking Thoughts (Spotlight)
5/19 – Bookworm Mama (review) & YA Book Divas (Spotlight & Excerpt)
5/20 – Just Commonly (review)

Giveaway!

Sign up for Thorn & Vine blog and book reviews HERE.

(3) Winners will each win a finished hard copy of The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber, courtesy of Thomas Nelson Publishers. Giveaway ends on May 26, 2017, 11:59 PM EST. Enter the giveaway here.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

9 Responses to "Book Review: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber"
  1. Christina says:

    This book looks amazing!

  2. danielle hammelef says:

    Thanks for the review. I think this book sounds amazingly well written based on your description of how it immediately drew you into a well-crafted world. I’m glad you added the cautionary info because I need to know what I’m getting into first.

    • evantassel says:

      Thanks Danielle, Yes it really drew me in. I write fantasy for middle-grade kids so I always like to indicate the age level in my reviews, and if there’s anything to consider like that. Weber is fearless with her characters, in all her books, and you have to be ready for that. I love that she’s taken on human trafficking through story, which is scary in real life too. But that opening scene – very wow – and the thought that the technology could be real, was pretty crazy-amazing! Appreciate your comment here.

  3. Thanks for participating in the tour! Greatly appreciate it!

    • evantassel says:

      It has been great so far! Lots of interaction with people here and on Instagram too! Love your work and thank you for the opportunity.

  4. Polaris Northstar says:

    Eeee! I don’t know if I should buy this book and read it as soon as it comes out, or wait for at least the second one to come out!?! Recommendation?
    Thanks for the review, I found it very helpful and I enjoyed reading it!

    • evantassel says:

      That’s tricky. But I’d want to be ahead of the chatter about the plot so there’s no chance of spoilers, so I guess I’d vote for now. 🙂

  5. Nicki Bishop says:

    Thanks for the review! I’ve seen this book on social media, and I love Mary Weber’s writing. This review answered all my questions about what the new series is going to look like. Definitely want to read it this summer.

Comments are closed.