Fantastic reading ideas for middle graders - clean reads, no romance, just great adventures with writer and resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Great Adventurous Reads For Middle Grade – 2017

Posted · 2 Comments

Great adventurous holiday reads for stocking stuffers! Recently I was walking out of a school and I overheard some moms lamenting the fact that there’s “so little good fiction for middle grade.” I’ll bet my eyes bugged out a bit since I write upper middle grade fantasy and love to read super adventures. “All my […]

Author Sara Ella talks about starting from scratch with resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Starting From Scratch by Author Sara Ella

Posted · 3 Comments

This holiday season, I’m sure you can relate to the high expectations we all have, and those moments when things take a turn we’d never expected, and it’s time to scratch our plans and chart a new path forward. In the midst of the craziness, take a break and enjoy some refreshment from my friend, […]

Two great devotionals with resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel, two books on snowy background.

Tools In Your Holiday Toolbox: Devotionals

Posted · Add Comment

Practical suggestions for placing stress and loss on the back burner, and remembering the reason you’re celebrating with great devotionals to help. If you’re like me you’re yearning to give friends something with a deeper meaning, that can actually touch their lives in a special way. I’ve got two special devotionals to recommend that can […]

Golden Gate bridge in fog with writing about summer blog updates for resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Summer Updates, Writing Contest, Giveaway

Posted · Add Comment

Some of you have been asking about where I’ve been so I’d like to give you some updates on this week’s Thorn & Vine blog! Changes are afoot… Back in February, my husband received a new job offer in the Bay Area and as soon as school got out, we’ve been swamped with moving up […]

Sara Ella and book cover for Unraveling with Resilience Expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Book Review: Unraveling by Sara Ella

Posted · 2 Comments

Official Book Description: In the second installment of the Unblemished Trilogy, YA author Sara Ella asks, “What happens when happily ever after starts to unravel?” Eliyana Ember doesn’t believe in true love. Not anymore. After capturing the Void and saving the Second Reflection, El only trusts what’s right in front of her. The tangible. The […]

Book Review and Giveaway The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Book Review: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Posted · 9 Comments

Official Book Description: For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power. Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, […]