Author Sara Ella talks about starting from scratch with resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Starting From Scratch by Author Sara Ella

Posted · 1 Comment

This holiday season, I’m sure you can relate to the high expectations we all have, and those moments when things take a turn we’d never expected, and it’s time to scratch our plans and chart a new path forward. In the midst of the craziness, take a break and enjoy some refreshment from my friend, […]

Two great devotionals with resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel, two books on snowy background.

Tools In Your Holiday Toolbox: Devotionals

Posted · Add Comment

Practical suggestions for placing stress and loss on the back burner, and remembering the reason you’re celebrating with great devotionals to help. If you’re like me you’re yearning to give friends something with a deeper meaning, that can actually touch their lives in a special way. I’ve got two special devotionals to recommend that can […]

Golden Gate bridge in fog with writing about summer blog updates for resilience expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Summer Updates, Writing Contest, Giveaway

Posted · Add Comment

Some of you have been asking about where I’ve been so I’d like to give you some updates on this week’s Thorn & Vine blog! Changes are afoot… Back in February, my husband received a new job offer in the Bay Area and as soon as school got out, we’ve been swamped with moving up […]

Sara Ella and book cover for Unraveling with Resilience Expert Elizabeth Van Tassel

Book Review: Unraveling by Sara Ella

Posted · 2 Comments

Official Book Description: In the second installment of the Unblemished Trilogy, YA author Sara Ella asks, “What happens when happily ever after starts to unravel?” Eliyana Ember doesn’t believe in true love. Not anymore. After capturing the Void and saving the Second Reflection, El only trusts what’s right in front of her. The tangible. The […]

Book Review and Giveaway The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Book Review: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

Posted · 9 Comments

Official Book Description: For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power. Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, […]

Some amazing things are in the works - lots of authors with stories of resilience and guest blog posts, come and enjoy!

Guest Blog Posts and Amazing April Plans

Posted · Add Comment

Announcements! We have an amazing array of authors covering historical, young adult, middle grade, fantasy, nonfiction, and more all participating in the #LetResilienceArise series starting next month. Get ready for some amazing moments with authors you love! April will feature Middle Grade and Young Adult Author and Lauren Brandenburg, Actress Amanda McDonough, and Author Loretta […]

How Elizabeth Van Tassel got her kids to love writing and reading a lot glasses and pen and paper.

How To Get Kids Interested In Writing and Reading

Posted · 10 Comments

I’m often asked about how I helped my sons to love reading and how parents can encourage their kids to love writing. I personally think the two go hand in hand. As a corporate writer for many years, and now venturing into ideas for kids and nonfiction for adults, I’ve had exposure to some great […]

Two boys with ice cream visiting Whit's End at Focus on the Family with Elizabeth Van Tassel

Tour Whit’s End at Focus on the Family!

Posted · Add Comment

Tour Whit’s End at Focus on the Family’s Headquarters! Our family takes lots of road trips and we’ve been grateful over the years for fun entertainment with Adventures in Odyssey, both their videos and especially their audio programs. This summer, we got to tour the headquarters in Colorado Springs at Focus on the Family and […]