Whispers of Legend is a fortress with ideas to spark great adventures, stories to broaden scope, and sprinkles of beauty to inspire. Whether you’re a teen or tween, you’ll find great books to consider reading, gem mysteries to enjoy, and silly and interesting videos about fun topics. You can also follow Elizabeth Van Tassel’s journey to publication with her series of fantasy stories. Come explore!

Join my fan club!

Sign up for blogs, newsletters, and be the first to know about Elizabeth’s writing here. To subscribe to my blog, click the button below!

Click Here!

Time Lapse Land

Play Magic Stones 2

 
 

Teens & Tweens

 
Posts
  • Summer Updates, Writing Contest, Giveaway

    Some of you have been asking about where I’ve been so I’d like to give you some updates on this week’s Thorn & Vine blog! Changes are afoot… Back in February, my husband received a new job offer in the Bay Area and as soon as school got out, we’ve been swamped with moving up […]

  • Book Review: Unraveling by Sara Ella

    Official Book Description: In the second installment of the Unblemished Trilogy, YA author Sara Ella asks, “What happens when happily ever after starts to unravel?” Eliyana Ember doesn’t believe in true love. Not anymore. After capturing the Void and saving the Second Reflection, El only trusts what’s right in front of her. The tangible. The […]

  • Book Review: The Evaporation of Sofi Snow by Mary Weber

    Official Book Description: For fans of Ender’s Game and Blade Runner comes a story of video gaming, blood, and power. Ever since the Delonese ice-planet arrived eleven years ago, Sofi’s dreams have been vivid. Alien. In a system where Earth’s corporations rule in place of governments and the humanoid race orbiting the moon are allies, […]

  • Ten Tried and Tested Teen-Approved Cures for Boredom

    As summer rapidly approaches, we’ve got great ideas to break up any boredom that tries to creep in. Feel free to print these and give them to your parents, adding your own ideas too. Get out your cooking gear. There are great pretzel-making kits on the baking aisle of most stores. Joey had fun making […]

  • Actress Amanda McDonough’s Journey From Deafness To A Loud Voice For Change

    I met Amanda McDonough when we were involved in some media work together and was truly touched and amazed (to put it mildly) by her amazing journey through deafness. Since I have a fantasy manuscript with a deaf main character I’m working on getting published, I wanted to know more about her life. When you […]

  • Guest Blog Posts and Amazing April Plans

    Announcements! We have an amazing array of authors covering historical, young adult, middle grade, fantasy, nonfiction, and more all participating in the #LetResilienceArise series starting next month. Get ready for some amazing moments with authors you love! April will feature Middle Grade and Young Adult Author and Lauren Brandenburg, Actress Amanda McDonough, and Author Loretta […]

  • How To Get Kids Interested In Writing and Reading

    I’m often asked about how I helped my sons to love reading and how parents can encourage their kids to love writing. I personally think the two go hand in hand. As a corporate writer for many years, and now venturing into ideas for kids and nonfiction for adults, I’ve had exposure to some great […]

  • Tour Whit’s End at Focus on the Family!

    Tour Whit’s End at Focus on the Family’s Headquarters! Our family takes lots of road trips and we’ve been grateful over the years for fun entertainment with Adventures in Odyssey, both their videos and especially their audio programs. This summer, we got to tour the headquarters in Colorado Springs at Focus on the Family and […]

  • Tools and Treasures For A Great New Year

    Thorn & Vine blog features three key areas to ramp-up your new year dreams and reenergize your family during this first quarter of 2017. Life 101 has tips for living well and intentionally with your choices and planning. Life Stories dives deep with books and inspiring stories of resilience. And in A Beautiful Life, you’ll […]

  • Sherry Kyle and The Girl’s Guide to Life

    When you were a tween, wouldn’t you have loved having a road map to help with the twists and turns of puberty? Sherry Kyle is a wonderful author I met at ACFW a couple of years ago. When I saw her new book called The Girl’s Guide to Life, I loved the cover and wanted […]

Everland
Youtube Channel

Young Writers
And Resilience